[2:02 p.m.] : [2005-01-13]

so yesterday i decided to indulge myself so after lunch at taco bell i picked up the two disc special edition of eternal sunshine of the spotless mind. man i loved that movie the first time i saw it. loved it more the second. and it still broke my heart last night. if nothing else for this scene, it's a little different in the film but it still pulls me down nicely.


JOEL
(calling after her)
I really should go. I really need to catch my ride.

VOICE-OVER
I didn't want to go. I was too nervous. I thought, maybe you were a nut. But you were exciting. You called from upstairs.

CLEMENTINE (CONT'D)
(flat)
So go.

JOEL
I did. I walked out the door. I felt like I was a scared little kid. I thought you knew that about me. I ran back to the bonfire, trying to outrun my humiliation. You said, "so go" with such disdain.

CLEMENTINE (CONT'D)
(poking her head downstairs) What if you stay this time?

JOEL
I walked out the door. There's no more memory.

CLEMENTINE
Come back and make up a good-bye at least. Let's pretend we had one.

Clementine comes downstairs, vague and robotic, making her way through the decaying environment.

CLEMENTINE (CONT'D)
Bye, Joel.

JOEL
I love you.

She smiles. They kiss. It fades.

CLEMENTINE
I --

EXT. BEACH - NIGHT

Joel finds himself hurrying back to the bonfire. This scene, too, is disintegrating. It dries up and Joel is just standing there on a faded beach at night, the bonfire frozen in the distance like a photograph.

INT. CAR - NIGHT

Joel sits in the back seat, Rob and Carrie are in the front.

CARRIE
Did you have fun?

Joel nods glumly.

Carrie continues to talk, but her voice goes under as Joel studies the faded husks of memories, piled like refuse outside the moving car window. He sees dried-out version of previous interactions with Clementine playing out in loops. He looks back and sees the memory of his ride home from the beach with Rob and Carrie. It, too, is decaying. Soon all has crumbled into dust. Everything goes black.

[P] [A] [F] [K] [G] [P] [D]