[6:20 p.m.] : [2002-08-05]

when i was little i terribly enjoyed going to work with my father. "Now men with purple hearts carry silver guns and they'll kill a man for what his father's done But what my father did, no, it don't mean shit, I'm not him" on the way to his office there is this pest control company with a sign out front and every week there are two new (bad) jokes up on the sign. one joke on each side of the sign so there would be one joke on the way to work and one coming home. "You think I need some discipline well, I've had my share I've been sent to my room and I've sat in a chair I held my tongue, I didn't plug my ears, no, I had a good talking to" i was never a strong enough reader at that age to read the whole joke before we drove past the sign so i would try to cheat and just read the punchline. "And I don't know why, but I still try to smile when they talk at me like I'm just a child But I'm not a child, even though I am much younger than them" of course being seven i didn't know where in all those words the joke ended and the punchline started so i never successfully read the punchline either. now mind you the jokes where all bad - why did the boy wear wet clothes? because the tags said wash and wear - bad (yes that is one i still remember from ninteen eighty seven). "Well, I've read some books and I've grown quite brave If I could just speak up I think that I would say that there is no truth No, there is only you and what you make the truth" however, they were all mildly clever and i was only a child. my dad would tell them and i would ask if i knew the answer i'd make a guess and he'd give me the punchline and i'd laugh. "So, I'll sing some songs and I'll pass a hat And I'll leave your town and I'll never look back No, I won't look back 'cause the road is clear and laid out ahead of me" have you ever told a parent that your five year plan includes working only so you can save to a)move out and away and b)be self sufficent enough to never have to ask for their help, much less speak to them, ever again?

[P] [A] [F] [K] [G] [P] [D]