[2:46 a.m.] : [2015-02-07]

Part 1:
I'll be leaving Moab and heading back to SLC this week. Subbing has been fun. I like this town, the lake and easy fishing near by, and the way everything sits nice and snug on the dirt floor sandwiched between the mountains and the plateaus. You feel it all near, but not like other places where it's all bearing, it's comforting here.

Hank is out of town so I did him a favor and agreed to set up the cameras and man the tricaster for the basketball game broadcast. He likes to talk about how weird it is to be in a small enough place that when he goes out around town he has students recognize him. As I was heading the back way into the gym a group of children yelled at me from the other end of the hallway. It was a group of kid i'd had at some point in the last few months at the elementary, but I honestly don't know if it was the fourth or second graders. I've tried to not take any of my time here too seriously or get attached. But these kids came running up to let me know they really wanted me to be their sub again next time their teacher was gone. I didn't have the heart to tell them I'd already finished my last day with the district.

Yesterday after I'd checked out for the day and was walking to the parking lot this blond girl who's always said hi to me in the halls even though I'm fairly certain she's never been in a class I've subbed told me she loved me. This morning after checking in she saw me and told me again. I said, "Okay," and went to open the gym and start my last day. It seemed more appropriate at the time than, "Look me up in Salt Lake when you turn 18."

Part 2:
Ego is a mother fucker.

[P] [A] [F] [K] [G] [P] [D]