[3:32 a.m.] : [2011-06-26]

I picked up a couple of days work this past week. Things had gotten rough and were on the edge of desperate and maybe it was easy enough to smell it on me if you knew how to look. Josh offered a wage to clean his shop, very unglamorous work, scrub the bathroom, organize the office, mop the floors. At the end of the day I had a little money in my pocket even if it wasn't nearly enough to settle my account with the bank. I was tired and hot, covered in dirt and dried sweat. I picked up dinner on the way home, ate in front of the tv and fell asleep where I sat in the easy chair.
I woke up later in the evening sore and tired and still full from my dinner and felt very content. And even though I knew I had to get up early the next morning for more of the same I stayed up late reading Steinbeck enjoying the ache and the fighting off sleep which so rarely decides it wants to come.

[P] [A] [F] [K] [G] [P] [D]