[3:30 a.m.] : [2011-03-30]

I picked up Skins, the new Buffalo Tom album. Since it was only two bucks more and came with an entire disc of demos and postcards I went with the deluxe edition. Totally worth the two bucks. The demo disc can stand on it's own and in that rough intimate acoustic way is actually better than the finished album.

But to be honest I don't expect you to care. I only mention it here cause, well, I don't know who else to talk to about it. My friends don't share my enthusiasm for the band, I don't know anyone who actually cares about them anymore. Which on it's own isn't actually as sad as it sounds. I know people get old, bands don't stay relevant (especially bands that never made it "big"), I'm not mad at all that.

As I was about half way through the album I and thinking it's pretty damn good it occurred to me that there is, or was, one person who might could exchange notes with some degree of interest and excitement.

As I was about half way through the album thinking about it when it occurred to me that I'd actually had a conversation with her in a dream last night. The conversation reminded me a lot of the Mouse song that goes "one hundred miles is a long drive inside a car" and then repeats while counting up to eleven hundred by intervals of one hundred. The conversation on my side went something like, "This time four years ago I figured I would have married you by now. This time five years ago..." and so forth and ended with "this time three years ago I couldn't find a way to give a shit about you and nothing has changed since."

As I was about half way through the album it hit me like a punch in the face that I'm just really fucking lonely these days.

[P] [A] [F] [K] [G] [P] [D]