[11:35 p.m.] : [2011-01-30]

i got my change behind the bed in a coffee can,
i throw my nickels in just incase i have to leave

I've been working my way through the collected works of Amy Hemple. She's really damn good. I got the book off the good word of Palahniuk who says the best things about her writing. Sometimes it's too good. I tend to read in bed before attempting sleep. I'll pile the pillows up behind me and propped up under the covers take in what I can in half an hour, or more.

this house, she's quite the talker, she creeks and moans
she keeps me up and the photographs know i'm a liar
they just laugh as i burn her down

I can never stop at the end of a story because most of the time it's too good. The endings... If I hope to turn out the light, if I plan to try and get any sleep at all, after I finish one I'll start the next. I take in the first paragraph if it's long, or the first page if it's short. Then, while I'm still at the beginning of something I can set it down. I can walk away from it.

and i will go if you ask me to, i will stay if you dare
and if i go, i'm goin on fire, let my anger take me there

[P] [A] [F] [K] [G] [P] [D]